Duke - MI's Web Page

Belgian Shepherd Malinois  : :  Male (neutered)  : :  Adult


More Pics...

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

____________________________________________________________

About Duke - MI

  • Status: Adopted!
  • Adoption Fee: 350.00
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Fawn
  • Color: Fawn with Black Mast / Bicolor
  • Current Size: 80 Pounds
  • Current Age: 1 Year 11 Months (best estimate)
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Has Basic Training
  • Exercise Needs: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Low
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious

Duke of  Michigan - $ 350.00

Hi everyone, my name is Duke!  I am looking for my forever home, and am hoping you can be my person!  I am 2 years old, and neutered.  My foster measured me and says that I am 24-26” tall and weigh a healthy 80 pounds.  I am healthy as a horse, and don’t have any medical problems. Enough about my stature, and numbers, lets chat about what kind of home I would love!

                Here are some things about me.  I am not a very brave soul, even so it appears that I have too much prey drive to get along with cats.  I do like other dogs, as long as they are not mean. I need slow introductions!   I am not a challenging guy, and need some ccccccourage, so I do need help in that department.  I would love someone to look up to and teach me that things are ok, and that I can trust.  I have met farm animals, and I liked to run along with them.  I am unsure about cats, but I back down to anything that challenges me.  I like kids, but would do well only with older respectful ones that are called teenagers. I do well riding in cars and going for walks.  I am unsure about strangers and loud noises, but with proper introductions to strangers and your help, I will be a good boy.  I don’t really like taking a bath, but I will settle in the tub, once I am in.  I do play rough at times and don't always understand that humans can't take that kind of play.

                My foster tells me I am decent in public, but I wasn't socialized well to it. I need someone who will work with me further and gradually get me used to it.  My foster has taken me to stores and various places and I do seek attention.  I prefer women, but don’t mind men with a slower introduction.  My foster is a male and I'm super attached to him. Oh, and with the kids, I sometimes don’t remember that I am 80 pounds.  Maybe older kids are better so I don’t accidentally knock someone over. 

                I love taking naps and being with my person or people.  I don’t really care about playing ball much, but will chase it a few times, and then will rest.  I do like pleasing my person, and like obedience training to keep my mind busy.  I am doing great learning how to walk on a leash, and boy do I love walks.  I do know some commands like sit, stay, come, down, get in the truck and my favorite- it’s time for bed. I'm a little of a couch potato at night and love to go exploring during the days. 

I absolutely hate alone time, don't you? I'm thinking a retired person or someone who works at home would be perfect for me. 

                I am being trained to go in my crate.  I don’t like it much and hate it when you leave.  That will need to be something that we work together on as I have a long way to go to like it.  I would love a home where I don’t need to be in my crate much, but understand for short periods of time. I do better in a stand up kennel run when I need to be left alone. The good news is that I am housebroken. 

Personally I think I am more of a country dog and would love to find a home where I can stretch my legs. One where there is not a lot of hustle and bustle of the city. 

                If you think you could give me a great home, please get a hold of my coordinator.  I am waiting impatiently, as I would really like a family to call my own.  I have decided I am not fond of small children so a home with children over the age of 14 or so would be best!

Love, Duke

Please contact Coordinator Diane Miller Foy (pretty busy with her job during the Covid crisis) with questions at email angelviper4@gmail.com or Valerie Lussier (help Diane out during this time of crisis) at malinoisrescuemichigan@yahoo.com. 

Duke's Adoption Application 

More about Duke - MI

Good with Dogs, Not Good with Cats, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Good with Adults, Somewhat vocal, Requires a yard, Leashtrained, Likes to play with toys, Obedient, Playful, Affectionate, Intelligent, Goofy

Sponsors: State Coordinator: Diane Foy Miller

ABMR thanks you for taking the time to look at our malinois available for adoption. 

Other Pictures of Duke - MI (click to see larger version):

Duke - MI Duke - MI Duke - MI Duke - MI